Letter Thirty

Dear stranger,

It is a strange thing – to write a letter to someone you don’t know. What will you be interested in reading? All I know about you is that you are a refugee – and that is the very least of who you are.
Here is something I wrote for you. It might not make much sense. Don’t worry about that.

In the temple of my body is a darkness
Shadow is a bird passing under your feet on the earth

as it flies between you and the sun


in the temple of my body is a darkness

where potential is stored away like dust

ready to bloom in shafts of light

knowing light will come


Shadow is a womb I sleep inside

my mother is there and all my family, all my friends

pressing their kisses to my eyes


I hope you get through this difficult time in your life and that you have a future of opportunity, love, security and comfort ahead of you.

Love, Andrea Mbarushimana, Artist and Community Connector, Coventry

Leave a comment